Screen shot 2015-06-16 at 2.18.19 PM

#501.   Scott Joplin, Pleasant Moments (ragtime waltz)
             Set of five parts (two violins, viola, cello, bass)    $10.00

This title is also available in a version for String Orchestra, consisting of a Conductor’s Score plus parts (typically three each Violin 1 and Violin 2, two each Viola and Cello, and one Bass). Price dependent on number of parts required; please enquire.

      Screen shot 2015-06-16 at 2.36.30 PM     Gesualdo     Screen shot 2015-06-16 at 2.36.30 PM copy

September 8, 2013 marked the 400th anniversary of the death of Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa, infamous nobleman, murderer, and composer. In commemoration, I started transcribing some of his madrigals and sacred pieces for strings.

Gesualdo’s harmonic language is notoriously wild, even by late-19th-century standards. Most of his madrigals are in five voices, and the others are in six. 

I can offer so far:

     for string quartet:
    — a Psalm (the only 4-voice vocal work of his I can find)
— a Galliard (the only instrumental piece of his I can find)

     for string quintet (two violins, two violas, cello):
O vos omnes
 (one of the Sacrae Cantiones (1603)) and three of the Madrigals (1595/1611): Ahi, disperata via; Dolcissima mia vita; and Gia piansi nel dolore.

Please enquire if interested. And if there is any interest in transcriptions of some of the six-voice madrigals  for string sextet, please let me know

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s