Bazzini SQ #6


Antonio Bazzini
String Quartet #6, in F

Antonio Bazzini (1818-1897) wrote six fine string quartets between 1864 and 1892. They do not deserve the near-total oblivion to which they have been consigned.

The first five quartets were published in Bazzini’s lifetime and the music is readily available. But the sixth quartet, arguably the best of the bunch, has not previously been published. It survives in a manuscript score held in the Library of the Milan Conservatory, and the present edition has been made from a copy of that score, with minimal editorial intervention.

This is delightful and effortlessly lyrical music.
Bazzini was a teacher of Puccini, and it shows.
Scroll down for some audio clips.

My edition pays careful attention to readability and convenient page turns, and
I am delighted to be the first publisher of this wonderful quartet,
a mere 120 years after its composition.

Set of parts, $27 plus postage.
Postage: Canada and U.S., $6 ( airmail)
Elsewhere, $12 (airmail)
Order by e-mail

For brief audio clips of the start of each movement., please e-mail me.